May 01, 2014

Contactually for Teams is new and improved

Title slide bg wide

Easier collaboration, and a more centralized set of contacts


We just rolled out some extremely useful improvements to our Team functionality, which are designed to help Contactually handle the real-world needs of business teams in a much simpler, much more logical method. In general, these changes aren't necessarily about adding fancy features, or changing the way you interact with Contactually as a group -- they're about making Teams better reflect the way you already work.

We'll be diving a lot deeper into what you can do with Teams over the next couple of weeks, but since this a pretty big change from what you may be used to, let's focus on exactly what's different between the new system, and the old one.


Real Team Buckets for real teams


In the old days, (i.e., last week), Team Buckets weren't REALLY Team Buckets. They were just regular buckets that team administrators could make, and send to a team -- but they worked just like individual buckets. That occasionally resulted in some weirdness, because contacts were never really "owned" by the team itself. If someone left a team, you might lose those contacts, and sharing contacts between members didn't happen as quickly or as reliably as it needed to.



All of that has changed now. Team Buckets are REAL Team Buckets, and they exist independently of any one user. As soon as you add a new contact to a Team Bucket, everyone with access to that bucket will see the contact appear. If you add a note, or update information on that contact, everyone in the team will see it. No fuss, no muss. So if you tried Teams in the past, and found the experience lacking, check it out again. We think you're going to like it.

Individual rights & permissions


Speaking of access, we've also made it a lot simpler to determine who has read, write, and other permissions for a given Team Bucket. We've turned off group permissions, and they are now set per individual user. Don't worry -- your old group permissions are automatically converted to individual ones, so everyone will retain the permissions and access levels they had before.


What do I need to do?


Lots of Team users won't have to do anything, actually. As I mentioned, old-style Team Buckets, which you created from the Team menu in Settings, are automatically upgraded, and will maintain their original permission settings (they'll just be based on individuals instead of groups).

However, you can no longer share an individual bucket. That means if you're relying on an individual bucket of yours to share contacts with someone else, you'll need to create a new Team Bucket and put those contacts in there. In the long run, though, it's much simpler -- instead of team buckets, individual buckets, and shared individual buckets (whew, that's a lot), there are only Individual Buckets, and Team Buckets. If you want to share, make a Team Bucket. If not, make an Individual one.

Even though this is a necessary step to make Contactually truly useful for teams, we know changes are always kind of annoying. We've tried to make this one as easy as possible, but if you need help or have any questions at all, we're ready to assist, whether that's through Sales, Support, or right here on the Contactually Blog. For a deeper exploration of how (and why) we've changed things up, check out our the recorded version of our Team launch webinar, embedded below.



Now get out there and build yourself some Team Buckets!